Has California DMV advised you that you need a SR-22 insurance filing to reinstate your license but you do not own a car. Then a California Non Owner SR-22 Insurance Policy is what you need. Find important information on how these policies work and who should or should not purchase them.
Is A California Non Owner SR-22 Insurance Right For You?
The answer is that depends on your vehicle situation. If you have a private passenger vehicle in your name the answer would be no. The reason is you will sign insuring documents that state you understand there is no coverage when driving vehicles you own. Not only does it exclude coverage on your vehicle but on a spouses vehicle as well. The policy can also exclude coverage from any vehicle that is registered at the same physical address as you. The California Non Owner SR-22 policy will cover when you drive other peoples vehicles not living with you. The insurance coverage is secondary over the vehicle you borrow. Which means the borrowed cars insurance would pay first and if exhausted then the Non Owner Policy will pay second.
What If I Buy A Vehicle?
If you are carrying a Non Owner SR-22 and you purchase a vehicle you must endorse the policy to a Owner Operator policy. If the insuring company you have only does Non Owner Insurance then you will need to purchase a new policy. Expect your premiums to increase when you make this change as the risk has increased for the insurance company.
What Exactly is a SR-22?
The SR-22 filing or SR-22 certificate is an extra form that an insurance company provides to California DMV on your behalf. It obligates the insurance company to notify the DMV when the policy begins and when it cancels or lapses. When DMV receives a SR-22 that a policy has started they will offer license reinstatement if all other requirements and fines have been met. If DMV receives a SR-26 that a policy has cancelled or lapsed they will suspended if the SR-22 requirement is still needed. You can contact the California DMV here to find more information on your license status.
How Long Is California Non Owner SR-22 Required?
The SR-22 requirement for both non owner and owner operator policies is 3 years. Do not make the mistake of waiting several years before filing thinking the SR-22 requirement will go away if you wait. The three years start from the date you first file after becoming eligible to reinstate your license. And remember keep that policy in force to keep your license valid.
How Much Coverage Is Required?
You must purchase at least the California state minimum liability limit which is,
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
- $5,000 property damage liability
The state minimum really is not much protection and you can probably double or even triple the coverage amount for a few extra dollars a month. You can get a insurance quote here from multiple SR-22 companies.
Who Sells California Non Owner SR-22 Insurance?
There are many options when shopping for a SR-22 policy. Do not make the mistake of filling out a form for a lead generation company that will sell your information to as many agents or insurance companies as they can. Click on the about us tab and find out who you are dealing with before sharing your personal info. A good option can be getting rate’s through a licensed insurance broker who can check multiple SR-22 insurance companies.