You just received a letter from California DMV that your drivers license has been suspended. Now you need to find out how to reinstate a California drivers license. Driver’s licenses can be suspended for a variety of reasons. Find out the reasons for a license suspension and the lengths of time a suspension may last.
Common Reasons For California Drivers License Suspension
- Driving uninsured
- DUI DWI
- Reckless driving
- Failure to pay traffic ticket or appear in court
- Physically or mentally unfit to drive
- Accident with no insurance
- Not paying court ordered child support
Duration of Suspension
- California DMV has different lengths of suspension depending on what your California drivers license was suspended for. Suspensions run anywhere from as little as 30 days for a minor infraction to years for more serious offenses.
- First DUI requires enrollment in DUI program and 4 month suspension or 1 year restricted license.
- Second DUI completion of DUI program and 1 year mandatory license suspension
- Refusal of BAC or chemical test 1 year license suspension A first offense will result in a 1-year suspension.
A second offense within 10 years will result in a 2-year revocation.
A third or subsequent offense within 10 years will result in a 3-year revocation.
- Drivers younger than 21 years of age with a .01 percent or more blood alcohol level face license suspension for one year.
- To many points on license. Drivers who accumulate four points in 12 months, six points in 24 months, or eight points in 36 months will receive an order of probation or suspension.The DMV can issue a suspension of up to one year but normally imposes only a six-month suspension
- Driving while medically suspended could result in a permanent drive license suspension.
Steps To Reinstate California Drivers License
California motorists must first examine the suspension order and know the exact reason why their driving license have been suspended or revoked. The steps to reinstate a California drivers license is not the same for all offenses, the most common reinstatement requirements are the following
- Read your suspension letter
- Complete the required suspension period
- Finish any required community service
- Pay any fines or required child support order
- Enroll or complete required DUI classes
- Install required ignition interlock device on vehicle
- Provide SR22 insurance to California DMV